Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht

Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht (1978) is a Belgian Composer

 

He studied at the Conservatory of his native town Bruges: piano with Jo Boudolf, organ with Ignace Michiels and musical notation with Octaaf Van Geert.

 

As a 13-years old he accompanied the eucharist for the first time in the Saint-Saviours-Cathedral of Bruges. In 1994 he was appointed as organist to the church of the Capuchins in Bruges and also at the Holy Bloodbasilica in Bruges from 2003 till 2012.

 

After the Brugean Conservatory he studied at the renowned Lemmens Institute at Louvain. Here he studied organ, music education, and compostion.

 

From 1998, Inghelbrecht became active as choirmaster. In 2002 he directed not only his first musical "Iduna", but also his first carillonwork "Città Bel-lissima", which had its première on the carillon of the Brugean Belfry, and with which he won the "Carillon composition Award 2002". He would win several compositionprizes later on.

 

In addition to his regular work as a teacher (solfège, composition and piano) at the Academies of Aalter and Damme, he is also active as a composer of vocal and instrumental music. He writes songs and musicals as well as polyphonic choirmusic, compositions for piano, organ, carillon, string-quartet, chambermusic and orchestral works.

© Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht

Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht

Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht (1978)

 

Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht a fait des études de piano chez Jo Boudolf au Conservatoire de Bruges et Il y a pris des cours d’ orgue chez Ignace Michiels. Il n’avait que 13 ans lorsqu’il jouait de l’orgue pendant une messe dans la Cathédrale Saint Sauveur. En 1994, Inghelbrecht est devenu l’organiste de l’église des Capucines et de l’église de Ver-Assebroek.

 

Ensuite, Il a étudié à l’Institut Lemmens à Louvain. Il y a pris des cours d’ orgue chez Reitse Smits, de direction de chœur chez Paul Van Nevel et Kurt Bikkembergs. Il a suivi des cours de composition chez Jan Van der Roost et Kurt Bikkembergs. En 2003, il a obtenu son diplôme « Maître de Musique ».

 

Dès 1998, Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht est devenu dirigent de chœur. En 2002 il a créé et dirigé son musical « Idoena », et il a gagné le premier prix pour sa première composition pour carillon: « Città Bel-lissima ». Cette pièce était en première au carillon du beffroi de Bruges. 

 

Jusqu'à 2012, Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht etait l’organiste de la Basilique du Saint Sang à Bruges.

 

Aujourd'hui, il est compositeur des pièces vocales et instrumentales. Il a gagné plusieurs prix de concours de composition. Ses compositions se consistent des chansons religieuses ou pour enfants. Il écrit également des compositions pour chœurs ou musicals, des œuvres pour piano, carillon, et orgue, ainsi que pour ensemble de violons ou musique de chambre, sans oublier ses compostions pour orchestre. Le timbre de ses compositions est très varié et soutenu par la polyrythmie et polyphonie moderne.

© Sebastiaan Inghelbrecht